Why I love Sublime Text

Uchephilz
2 min readJun 23, 2021

--

A screenshot of a tab on sublime text, where I write my thoughts on an organization structure for a company.

Sublime Text serves as a notebook

Some programmers that I work with were pissed about this, they wondered why I use a tool that was made as an IDE as a notebook, I can see why they’d say that.
Sublime Text is a powerful text editor, whether it is an IDE or Not IDE, I do not care, it is a text editor firstly, so I write text and edit text on it.
So how do I use it?

  • When I need to send a long email, I usually write out my thoughts first on Sublime text.
  • Some part of this article were written on Sublime Text.
  • It is a very good sticky note, it actually loads faster than Windows sticky note.
  • It automatically saves what you are writing even though your computer shots down unexpectedly.

I am gonna say this in as many ways that I can, just so you get it:
Sublime Text opens fast
Sublime Text launches fast
Sublime Text loads quickly when you open it.
The software is about 10mb size
I hope you understand me.

Sublime Text serves as an IDE

IDE Stands for Integrated Development Environment, it took me a while to understand what the full meaning is.
I have a simpler explanation: Integrated Software Code Editor (ISCE), trust me, if I was told this, it wouldn’t have taken so much time for me to understand what an IDE is.
I use Sublime Text to:

  • Quickly analyze JSON, XML, SQL etc.
  • Verify the Syntax of as many programming languages that I get my hands on.
  • Build simple websites, quickly.
  • Open projects to quickly make changes.
  • and the list goes on...

Sublime Text my mind map tool.

Because of how lightweight Sublime Text is, I can quickly open it to pour out my mind whenever I am brainstorming, I have create a format to that make it serve as a mind map tool, by using identation and symbols.

I strongly believe that I’ve extended the usage of Sublime Text to suit my needs and I don’t think it’s a problem, I currently have several text editors that I work with, such as OneNote, Evernote and some others, but you should know that Sublime Text works for me.

PS. I do not work for Sublime Text #wink

--

--